AutoGuru logo

R & D Auto Services

4.4 • 142 reviews
7 Years in Operation
7 Years in Operation
2 Qualified Staff
2 Qualified Staff
4 Service Bays
4 Service Bays
Preferred Partner
Preferred Partner
7 Years a Member
7 Years a Member
Air-conditioning Specialist
Air-conditioning Specialist
Brakes Specialist
Brakes Specialist
Diesel Specialist
Diesel Specialist

About Anthony & the team

Anthony is the Workshop Manager
avatar image

R & D Auto Service has been in business since 2012, and we aim to offer you the best mechanical service, at a competitive price.

We can look after your vehicular needs from logbook services to general/minor car service, maintenance and inspections, brakes, tyres both budget and premium brands, roadworthy certificates for cars and motorcycles, trucks to 4.5T and trailers.

We use only top-brand fluids and parts and are happy to talk to you about your car's service and answer any queries you may have. We also offer servicing for Trucks, Minibuses, and motorcycles.

Our other services include Air Conditioning repairs, servicing and re-gassing. Head Gaskets, Timing belts and chains, full engine rebuilds, even the simple things like bulb or wiper blade replacements.

Our Senior mechanic is Dual qualified, General Automotive Mechanic & Diesel Fitter (Diesel Mechanic) He has also managed the workshop of a fleet of 16 Maxi Taxis. As a result of this, he fully understands the urgency of quick turn around servicing, especially for fleet and business vehicles.

We can can be contacted 24hrs on our mobile number either by call or text

*Saturday services are by appointment only *

Services

Logbook ServicesBattery ReplacementTyres & BalancingGeneral Mechanical Repairs

Location

3/46 Smith Street Motorway, Southport, QLD

Trading Hours

Monday8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday9:00 AM - 12:30 PM
SundayClosed

Payment Methods

Cash (in store only)
Cash (in store only)
EFTPOS
EFTPOS
Visa
Visa
American Express
American Express
Fleet Cards
Fleet Cards
Mastercard
Mastercard
Afterpay
Afterpay

Reviews

4.4 • 142 reviews
5 stars
1024 stars
223 stars
72 stars
41 star
7
avatar image
HughMercedes-Benz C-Class
5 • 5th Aug 2020
avatar image
SageMitsubishi Magna
5 • 2nd Aug 2020
avatar image
JackHolden Commodore
5 • 1st Aug 2020
It is a family business and the people are reliable and experienced. Recommend to you who needs car services.
avatar image
JenMazda CX-7
5 • 29th Jul 2020
Anthony was awesome. Very helpful and concise.
avatar image
PuaHolden Captiva
1 • 24th Jul 2020
My car has gone worse than when I took it in. Dropped it off on a Saturday to do the timing kit, picked up on the Thursday didn't even make it home which it's a 5 minute drive maybe less. Took it back just got it back today and no change. Will be claiming for a full refund as will be taking my car somewhere else. Very disappointed and really regret our decision to take it there.
avatar image
Reply from R & D Auto Services

Firstly let me say I sympathise with your predicament. You requested a quote on online to replace a timing chain that had been diagnosed by another mechanic. You accepted our quote of $2290.00. This included all three chains and guides for your V6 Captiva. This job was completed and yes we had the car for 1 week. It was explained to you that we had other cars already booked in and we would do your car between other jobs. You accepted this and left the car with us. When you picked up the car you were advised of the condition of the old chain and guides and were even shown the old parts. You were also advised that this engine had a lot of black gunk which is hardened oil particles that had attached themselves to the internals of the engine. When your partner brought the car back to us he explained what the car did. He also explained that the oil pressure light had come on and that's when the engine started to rattle. This was the first I had heard about the oil pressure light. I was then informed for the first time that this was what had happened when the car was first diagnosed by the other mechanic. It now appears that neither the mechanic that diagnosed the timing chain or us were given the full story from the beginning. I then explained that the gunk particles had probably settled in the sump and were being picked up and being sucked into the strainer of the oil pump thus blocking oil flow and ultimately causing an oil pressure drop. We offered to clean out your Sump and oil pump pick up as we were quite sure that the issue was this gunk blocking the strainer. We also advised that we would complete the labour content of the work for you free of charge but you would have to pay for any parts or oils used. Then on Saturday morning, you walk into our workshop making slanderous accusations, fortunately, your partner had a better demeanour and listened and an arrangement was made with him for the vehicle to come back on Tuesday to have a new oil pump installed which has no doubt been damaged by the lack of oil lubricating it and the pressure relief valve and the rest of the engine. Short of stripping the engine down, there is no way to determine how much damage has been done. I do understand your frustration over this but if you had told us about the initial issue and what had happened and when then this would have been diagnosed correctly from the start. This would have in turn saved us all a great deal of angst and agitation. I wish you good luck in getting your car repaired and hopefully, you haven’t caused too much damage to the engine by allowing it to run without oil pressure.